Pineau des Charentes, between tradition and modernity The culture of the vine appeared in Charentes in Roman times; First established in Saintonge, the vineyard then spread to the South, Aunis and Angoumois.

Then the town of Cognac and port on the Charente River acquired a great reputation in the wine trade. If the origin of Pineau des Charentes is not precisely established, it is still a legend which tells that the Pineau des Charentes is not only the fruit of the vine but also that of chance

In 1589, when Henry IV ascended to the throne of France, a Charentais winemaker, during harvest, accidentally poured grape must into a barrel containing water-de-vie from Cognac. It bet again then it is in its wine storehouse.

A few years later, during a bumper harvest, the precious barrel it became necessary. He was surprised to discover a wonderful drink, clear and sunny as the land of Charentes. Pineau des Charentes was born. For over four centuries, winemakers follow the same tradition and the same expertise in developing a unique product and high quality.

3-photos

WHITE PINEAU

Grapes : Ugni white
Aging : 18 months minimum, 12 months in oak barrels.
Degree : 16 to 22%
Eye : dress up a straw yellow to a deep old gold to deep reflections. Regular tears quickly form around the glass.
Nose : both intense and elegant; of great complexity, hints of lime blossom and vine flower mingle with a whole range of aromas of fresh fruit: peach, plum, pear almond, plum, quince, with a hint of vanilla and honey.
Taste : after a fresh attack, the white Pineau quickly provides a feeling of fullness and generosity. Its aromatic richness is then expressed fully. It is a fine and delicate wine.

pineau-blanc2
pineau-rouge

RED PINEAU

Grapes : Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot Noir.
Aging : 14 months, including 8 months minimum in oak barrels.
Degree : 16 to 22% of the volume.
Eye : Dress mahogany, pink or deep red, copper, brown highlights.
Nose : Pineau des Charentes red is intense and generous; its bouquet is an explosion of black fruit freshly picked, such blackcurrant, blackberry or cherry, sublimated by aromas of spice, licorice, cinnamon and vanilla.
Taste : Supple attack, generosity and power of red fruit, excellent aromatic persistence.

OLD PINEAU

Grapes : Ugni white.
Aging : minimum 60 months, including 36 months in oak barrels.
Degree : 16 to 22%
Eye : dress up an old gold to deep reflections. Regular tears quickly form around the glass.
Nose : both intense and elegant; of great complexity, vine flower notes mingle with a aromas of plum, quince, with a hint of vanilla and honey.
Taste : after a fresh attack, the white Pineau quickly provides a feeling of fullness and generosity.

pineau-vieux
pineau-pack

Discovery Pack

Discover the complete range
white, red and old
in unique bottles

Le Pineau des Charentes, entre tradition et modernité La culture de la vigne est apparue en Charentes à l’époque romaine; d’abord implanté en Saintonge, le vignoble s’étendit ensuite vers le Sud, l’Aunis et l’Angoumois.

Puis la ville de Cognac et les ports sur le fleuve Charente acquirent une grande notoriété dans le commerce du vin. Si l’origine du Pineau des Charentes n’est pas établie avec précision, il est toutefois une légende où l’on conte que le Pineau des Charentes est non seulement le fruit de la vigne mais aussi celui du hasard

En 1589, alors qu’Henri IV accédait au trône de France, un vigneron charentais, au cours des vendanges, versa par mégarde du moût de raisin dans une barrique qui contenait de l’eau-de-vie de Cognac. Il remisa alors ce fût dans son chai.

Quelques années plus tard, lors d’une récolte abondante, la précieuse barrique lui devint nécessaire. Il eut alors la surprise d’y découvrir un merveilleux breuvage, limpide et ensoleillé comme la terre des Charentes. Le Pineau des Charentes était né. Depuis plus de quatre siècles, les vignerons respectent la même tradition et le même savoir-faire dans l’élaboration d’un produit unique et de grande qualité.

3-photos

PINEAU BLANC

Cépages : Ugni blanc
Vieillissement : 18 mois minimum, dont 12 mois en fûts de chêne.
Degré : 16 à 22%
Œil : robe pouvant aller d’un jaune paille à un vieil or aux reflets profonds. Des larmes régulières se forment rapidement autour du verre.
Nez : à la fois intense et élégant; d’une grande complexité, des notes de tilleul et de fleur de vigne se mêlent à toute une palette aromatique de fruits frais: pêche, prune, figue  amande, pruneau, pâte de coing, avec une pointe de vanille et de miel.
Bouche : après une attaque fraîche, le Pineau blanc offre rapidement une sensation d’ampleur et de générosité. Sa richesse aromatique s’exprime alors pleinement. Il est un vin fin et délicat.

pineau-blanc2
pineau-rouge

PINEAU ROUGE

Cépages : Cabernet sauvignon et merlot noir.
Vieillissement : 14 mois, dont 8 mois minimum en fûts de chêne.
Degré : 16 à 22 % du volume.
Œil : Robe acajou, rosé ou rouge intense, cuivré, reflets bruns.
Nez : Le Pineau des Charentes rouge est intense et généreux; son bouquet est une explosion de fruits noirs fraîchement cueillis, tels le cassis, la mûre ou la griotte, arômes sublimés par des notes d’épices, de réglisse, de cannelle et de vanille.
Bouche : Attaque souple, générosité et puissance des notes de fruits rouges, excellente persistance aromatique.

PINEAU VIEUX

Cépages : Ugni blanc.
Vieillissement : 60 mois minimum, dont 36 mois en fûts de chêne.
Degré : 16 à 22%
Œil : robe pouvant aller d’un vieil or aux reflets profonds. Des larmes régulières se forment rapidement autour du verre.
Nez : à la fois intense et élégant; d’une grande complexité, des notes de  fleur de vigne se mêlent à toute une palette aromatique de pruneau, pâte de coing, avec une pointe de vanille et de miel.
Bouche : après une attaque fraîche, le Pineau blanc offre rapidement une sensation d’ampleur et de générosité.

pineau-vieux
pineau-pack

Coffret découverte

Découvrez la gamme complète
blanc, rouge et vieux
dans des bouteilles uniques